Google Analytics Alternative
Does Vanilla Extract Have Gluten- The Most Amazing Things You Should Know
Mar 05

Does Vanilla Extract Have Gluten? The Most Amazing Things You Should Know

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

Some people have a gluten sensitivity and can barely stand the presence of it in their diet. While to others, such as Celiac patients, eating anything with gluten can prove to be fatal. Does vanilla extract have gluten? Well, you’re in luck because today, we’ll talk about just that. Since vanilla is one of the most common and most popular flavorings, we will help you figure out whether to include it in your diet or not.

Is There Gluten In Pure Vanilla Extract?

If you’re looking for a gluten-free vanilla extract for your gluten free diet, the best way for you to get one is by looking for a pure vanilla extract as this is, in fact, free of gluten. Steer away from any product that doesn’t claim 100% purity. Also, always choose reputable brands that you’ve grown to trust.

How Is Vanilla Extracted?

There are several ways to extract essences for food consumption, cosmetic applications, or for making perfume. Here are the ones that are used for making gluten-free vanilla extract:

1. Extracting Using Distilled Alcohol

Extracting Using Distilled Alcohol

To extract pure vanilla, the essence of vanilla beans will have to be extracted using distilled alcohol. In the US, there are legal criteria that have to be met before any product is labeled as pure vanilla extract. Use of distilled alcohol as extraction medium is one of them, since these are also gluten-free.

The process of distillation prevents any protein to form or to get into the final product. Other ingredients that may also be used without affecting the gluten-free state of the extract are water, glycerin, invert sugar, glucose, propylene glycol, and sugar. These ingredients may be added as flavor enhancers and to expedite the extraction process.

2. Extracting Using Plain Water

Extracting Using Distilled Alcohol

Another way of extracting pure gluten is with the use of plain water. However, this is a tedious process which makes it not viable for commercial production. You can use this method in making gluten extracts at home. But if you want to get faster results, usee distilled alcohol or even pure vodka!

Why Are Vanilla Extracts So Expensive?

Vanilla beans are one of the hardest products to grow. They require a lot of time and attention before they’re processed. First, you should know that vanilla is an orchid that grows best in tropical climates. The flowers of each vanilla orchid are hand-pollinated, and once its seed pod is fully developed, it will also have to be handpicked, not machine harvested like many other crops. Once harvested, it will need several months to cure.

Why Make Your Own Vanilla Extract?

Why would you want to make your own vanilla extract when you can easily get them anywhere? One great thing about making your own vanilla extract is knowing what exactly goes into your food. Though pure vanilla extract is gluten-free, some manufacturers use additives that aren’t gluten-free.

As you well know, food products labeled as gluten-free are relatively more expensive than the regular ones. Besides, vanilla extracts are very easy to make. Why not take the time to try it out for yourself, right?

What You’ll Need:

3 pieces of vanilla beans
1 cup vodka (highest proof you can get your hands on)
Mason jar with a tight lid


With a kitchen scissor or a knife, cut each vanilla bean lengthwise and crack it apart but without entirely separating them. Make sure to leave at least an each inch at the end to keep it connected.

Place the vanilla beans into the mason jar and pour the vodka in. Make sure that the vodka covers the beans completely. A tall mason jar rather than a wide one will work better for this. Close the lid tightly.

Be sure to store the jar in a cool, dark place for 2-3 months, but remember to take it out at least once a week to give it a good shake, then store it back. You may also want to wrap the jar in a black cloth, so light doesn’t penetrate whenever you’re taking it out for a good shake.

Why We Use Vanilla Extract In Baking

Eliminating vanilla extract from your diet is a lot harder than you think. It’s one of the essential flavors used in baking and is still widely used these days, so trying to find products that don’t contain this ingredient can be very frustrating, though not necessarily unproductive. As a flavor enhancer, vanilla extract helps to highlight the other flavors in pastries and other desserts. Food labels will indicate whether the vanilla extract used is pure or not.

We hope you have learned some good things from this article. Don’t forget to share if you’ve enjoyed it. Thanks for reading!

Jan 26

Are Herbalife Products Gluten Free? All You Need To Know

By Adriana Seng | Gluten-Free Foods

Starting a healthy diet has never been easier. With today’s numerous health and fitness products such as dietary supplements, nutritional shakes, and other medicines that promise overall enhanced health, you can easily live a healthier life with a simple purchase or two.

One company you can buy such product from is Herbalife. However, if you’ who avoids food or products with gluten, you may want to know: “Is Herbalife Gluten Free?”. Read on to find out which Herbalife products are gluten free, and which aren’t.

What Is Herbalife?


Before we get into the different Herbalife products available in the market today, let us first delve a little bit into what Herbalife is. Herbalife is a supplement company that produces products for weight loss and overall health.

The company was established back in 1980 with the goal to improve the nutritional habits of people the world over. To do so, Herbalife has marketed protein shakes, nutritious snacks, vitamins, sports and energy products, and skin and hair care products.

Herbalife products were produced under the supervision of consulting professionals in the health and nutrition industry from around the globe. Today, Herbalife has successfully sold millions of their health products to numerous distributors all around the globe, making the world healthier one person at a time.

Herbalife Core Products

If you’re just beginning to take Herbalife products, we recommend that you start off with their core products to maximize your health and fitness goals.

The Herbalife core products are:

Formula 1 Nutritional Shake Mix

Herbalife’s Nutritional Shake Mix is a shake that you can sometimes substitute for a meal. This product contains protein, fiber, and other essential nutrients that can help enhance your body’s metabolism on the cellular level.

This shake mix comes in different flavors and contains approximately 21 vitamins, minerals, and essential nutrients. It also comes with around 9 grams of protein and fiber for weight management support.

Here’s a quick video on how the Formula 1 shake is made. Watch here.

Formula 2 Multivitamin Complex

Another core product of Herbalife is their Formula 2 Multivitamin Complex. These multivitamin supplements were created to provide your body with metabolic function support on the cellular level.

This product comes with 21 essential micronutrients and antioxidants Vitamins A, C, and E to support your body’s immune system. It also contains folic acid, calcium, and iron for healthy bones, skin, and hair.

Formula 3 Cell Activator

Herbalife’s third core product is the Formula 3 Cell Activator. This product comes with Alpha-lipoic acid, an antioxidant that fights oxidation on the cellular level. What this product does is that it fixes the damage caused by free radicals in your cell’s mitochondria.

The mitochondria are responsible for energy production in a cell; energy that is essential for numerous biological processes. This product also contains aloe vera to enhance your body’s ability to absorb essential micronutrients.

Gluten-Free Herbalife Products


Herbalife provides numerous health products in the market today. They have independent distributors worldwide and even trainers that monitor the users’ progress.

However, according to their website, not all Herbalife products have been certified gluten-free. Herbalife says on their website, “We are currently exploring gluten certification for other products,” and that their products that have been certified have GFCO logos printed on the label.

Here are some Herbalife products that have been certified gluten-free:

  • Formula 1 Healthy Meal Nutritional Shake Mix
  • Personalized Protein Powder
  • Active Fiber Complex
  • Herbalife SKIN® Collagen Beauty Booster
  • Protein Drink Mix Peanut Cookie

Side Effects Of Herbalife


Though Herbalife products promote overall health and fitness, that doesn’t mean that there can’t be any side effects after taking their products.

One side effect of Herbalife products is diarrhea which is a condition where you will experience having loose and watery stools for up to two days. Another side effect you may experience is nausea, a state where you will feel like vomiting.

Other side effects of Herbalife products are jitteriness and headaches. To avoid experiencing these side effects, it would be best to consult a physician before you decide to buy any Herbalife products. This is important knowledge especially for pregnant and lactating women.

A Quick Recap


Herbalife products provides you with an effortless way to start a healthier diet. Herbalife has been around since the 80s and has been producing numerous heath products that promote overall nutrition. Aside from nutritional products, Herbalife also provides weight loss and beauty supplements for fitness and skin health.

However, if you’re sensitive to gluten products, you should stay away from most Herbalife products since only a few have been certified gluten-free.

If you liked this article and would like to know more about other fitness and health products, please leave your feedback in the comments below. Until next time, enjoy!

Dec 31

Is Emergen C Gluten Free? All You Need To Know

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

If you find yourself constantly having colds, or being easily susceptible to contagious diseases, you may want to try upping your Vitamin C intake by ingesting certain multivitamin mixtures such as Emergen C.

Unfortunately, if you are one of the many people who suffer from Celiac disease, you first have to knowing whether a certain product contains gluten first before you ingest it to avoid unfavorable health effects.

if you are planning on taking Emergen C, do read on to know if Emergen C is gluten free, and to know about a simple alternative you can use in its place.

What Is Emergen C

Emergen C is a multivitamin powder that is manufactured by Alacer Corporation. This product is created to provide you with a sufficient dose of Vitamin C as well as other nutrients and vitamins including zinc, manganese, and 7 B Vitamins.

This powdered multivitamin drink comes in a single-serve packet that contains about 1000mg of Vitamin C. Each packet should be prepared with about 4 to 6 ounces of hot or cold water in order to be completely diluted and palatable enough to drink.

Emergen C Side Effects

Though Emergen C is a multivitamin drink originally intended to make you healthier, ingesting large doses of it can eventually lead to several health problems.

Just like any other multivitamin product, Emergen C can cause an upset stomach, headaches, or serious life-threatening side-effects when ingested too frequently.

What’s more is that since it also contains minerals, large dose intake can also lead to stomach bleeding, uneven heart rate, tooth staining, muscle weakness, and increased urination.

What Is Emergen C Made Of


Since Emergen C is a synthetic source of Vitamin C, it also contains other ingredients including:

  • Fructose
  • Maltodextrin
  • Citric Acid
  • Malic Acid
  • Acacia
  • Beta-Carotene
  • Dried Orange Juice Concentrate
  • Glycine
  • L-Aspartic Acid
  • Natural Flavors
  • Orange Oil
  • Silicon Dioxide
  • Tartaric Acid
  • Tocopherols

Though Gluten or other Gluten generating ingredients were not included in the list above, Emergen C hasn’t been proven to be completely Gluten free. As the manufacturer’s website says: “We do not use Gluten during the manufacturing process. However, we are unable to confirm its presence or absence as the end product is not tested for gluten.”

So if you are suffering from celiac disease, or if you are plainly trying to avoid getting gluten in your diet, Emergen C may not be the right multivitamin product for you since there’s no assurance that it doesn’t contain any gluten.

Why Gluten Is Dangerous For People With Celiac Disease

If you thought to yourself that having a glass of Emergen C may not be harmful to your body even though you have celiac disease and this product hasn’t been proven to have or not have gluten in it, you might be better off not trying it out at all.

If you are unaware of how serious gluten can harm your body if you have celiac disease, you should know that ingesting a product that contains gluten can significantly damage your body’s immune system and intestinal walls.

What’s more is that gluten ingestion can lead to more serious unfavorable health issues including anemia, fatigue, several digestive issues, and an increased risk of serious diseases.

How To Make Natural Vitamin C Powder

If you don’t want to take Emergen C, but would still like to increase your Vitamin C intake through a nice drink, I’m sure you will be delighted to know about this easy Vitamin C powder recipe that you can easily make at home.

Though this homemade Vitamin C powder does not contain as much vitamins and minerals as Emergen C, it will surely provide you with enough Vitamin C to boost your immune system.

What You’ll Need:

  • 5 organic oranges
  • A coffee grinder
  • A produce drying rack
  • A clean cloth

What To Do:

  • Peel the oranges and cut the peel into thin strips.
  • Dry the peels on a drying rack covered by a clean cloth for a few days.
  • Grind the strips into a fine powder.
  • Store into an airtight container and keep in a dark, cool place.
  • Take no more than a teaspoon a day.

A Quick Recap

Emergen C is a great multivitamin drink that you can use to increase your daily Vitamin C intake and to enhance your body’s immune system. However, if you suffer from celiac disease, this product may not be a good choice for you since it hasn’t been tested for gluten yet.

Fortunately, you can still increase your Vitamin C intake without using Emergen C by easily making your own Vitamin C powder at home with a couple of fresh oranges and a coffee grinder.

If you liked this article, and would like to know more about other health related tips, please leave us your feedback in the comment box below. Until next time, enjoy!

Dec 28

Does Sugar Have Gluten? Everything You Need To Know

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

If you’re following a gluten-free diet, you might have asked yourself this question, “Does sugar have gluten?”

This question is not the only concern for dieters but also to people who have celiac disease because they develop negative reactions to gluten. Several reactions include diarrhea, abdominal pain, and diarrhea.

Since I don’t know the answer to this question myself, I spent time reading books and visiting credible websites. The information I gathered really amazed me. If you’re curious to know the answer and everything about gluten and sugar, keep reading below.
Continue reading

Nov 24

Can Pregnant Women Eat Over Easy Eggs? Know The Amazing Truth Here

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

Are you pregnant and craving for over easy eggs? Then hold your horses first as I try to answer the question that most pregnant women are eager to know: Can pregnant women eat over easy eggs? You might be eating them already, but you can never be sure of its safety.

I got interested in this question when I overheard some pregnant women talking about the safety of over easy eggs. The other girl says that it’s totally safe because she’s been consuming it from her past pregnancies while the other woman refuted convincingly. To set things clear, I researched online for the answer and what I’m going to share are the things I discovered.

Continue reading

Nov 10

Weight Training Diet Plan: What Foods Should You Eat?

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

If you are planning on getting yourself a toned muscular body, then you must be prepared to apply strict discipline to yourself when it comes to your diet. Building muscle is not just about exercising with weights, and it’s also about creating a low fat and high protein diet that will help your body build muscles.

There are a lot of foods out there that can be good for building muscle, but there’s also a lot of food that can slow down your body’s progress when you’re weight training. The key to effective weight training is knowing which food is beneficial.

Continue reading

Nov 10

The Best Fat Burning Foods List You Need To Know About

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

Have you ever heard of the saying, abs are made in the kitchen? Well, this saying wouldn’t have become so widespread if it weren’t true.

Apparently, having a tight sculpted body heavily depends on the type of food you eat. If you’re not keen on going to the gym or taking fat burning supplements, then you might opt for fat burning foods instead.

However, exercise is still an important part of weight loss, which means the foods mentioned in this fat burning foods list is only a small part of the whole picture when it comes to losing weight.

Continue reading

Oct 31

7 Amazing Fixes When You Need A Substitute for Balsamic Vinegar

By Adriana Seng | Food Tips

Balsamic Vinegar is an ingredient that can be used for various dishes including salads, sauces, meat dishes, and even desserts. But what if you happen to run out of Balsamic vinegar in your kitchen? What should you do?

I myself have struggled with finding a suitable substitute for Balsamic vinegar before, especially since this type of vinegar has a very distinctive taste. Fortunately there is a wide array of ingredients that can be used as a substitute for Balsamic vinegar, you might even be surprised with some of the alternatives for Balsamic vinegar that you will find here.

Continue reading

Oct 09

Why Are You Not Losing Weight On Paleo? The Amazing Answer And More

By Adriana Seng | Gluten-Free Foods

Is your paleo diet giving you the desired weight results that you want? If not, then you’re one of the many who is not losing weight on paleo. That was my problem before until I finally discovered why I’m not losing weight on this healthy diet.

I have observed the paleo diet for about three months, but my weight was still the same after that. I went to look for answers on the internet and I was surprised that what I’m doing all along was wrong. Learn more about paleo and the reason why are you not losing weight below.

Continue reading

Maltodextrin Gluten Free
Sep 30

Facts You Should Know About Maltodextrin Gluten Free

By Adriana Seng | Gluten-Free Foods

What does maltodextrin gluten free mean? This is a rather unfamiliar term that not a lot of us would have heard about. In fact, the word maltodextrin will definitely fall under the category of medical jargons, right? The thing is, you are asking the question wrong. Maltodextrin means that a food is gluten free. There are several reasons why a person would want to look for maltodextrin food, and stick to them.

Continue reading